doesn’t mean it won’t be delicious!

Lately I’ve been experimenting with some REALLY simple recipes. I was a little skeptical about it at first but they turned out exceptionally tasty! Have you ran into issues where you saw an recipe that you really want to try but yet don’t have all the ingredients it asked for? yeap, that sounds like a common problem I have. The thought of making a run to the grocery shop to pick up all the ingredients just kills my drive of wanting to bake often times. 🙂 I’m going to share with you two recipes that I’ve tried and I found both delicious and I would say it’s definitely on the healthier side of baking. 😀

1) Banana Pancake Ingredients : a very ripe banana and two large eggs.

Mash the banana and whisk it with the two eggs. You will get three medium size thin pancake which I would say is an one person serving. This is not only delicious but it is also healthy! You will get your pancake fix without indulging in hundreds of calories. Isn’t this great or what? Simple, delicious and cures our cravings. I LOVE IT! Serve it with some yogurt/cottage cheese and some fruits. You won’t need additional sugar in this recipe for sure…well according to my taste bud. 🙂

IMG_2171

2) Banana Upside Down Nutella Cake

Ingredients: cake: Nutella (2/3 of a small jar), 3 large eggs, half a cup of plain yogurt

Fruit toppings: sugar (1/2 cup), 1 banana

Yep, I haven’t mentioned anything about flour/baking soda/powder etc. I wasn’t lying when I said simple. 🙂 The only tricky part to this cake is you need to beat the eggs really fluffy with an electric mixer. Turn it to high speed and let it foam up until it at least triples its size. If you don’t get to that point then your cake will unfortunately turn out tasting very eggish. I assume most people don’t appreciate an egg tasting cake. 😛 Next, melt the nutella until it softens in the microwave and mix the yogurt in with the nutella. This might hardens the nutella if the yogurt is really cold, so I made sure my nutella is pretty warm. Then fold in the egg mix a portion at a time (~1/3 at a time). The fruit bottom part of this cake will require you to heat up sugar on the stove until it turns dark brown. Put all the sugar in and add two table spoonful of water. Once it turns golden brown, pour the melted sugar into the baking pan and spread it across the bottom of the pan before it hardens. Then, align the fruit of your choice across the bottom of the pan. Lastly, pour in the batter mix you previous made into the pan. It’s now ready to bake for about 25 to 30 mins.

IMG_2177 IMG_2179 IMG_2182IMG_2183IMG_2208IMG_2188

A simple and common way to check whether the cake is ready is by placing a toothpick in the cake and see if the batter sticks. My first upside down cake turned out pretty well I would say. 😀

Leave a Reply

