I’ve came across many pictures of the popular Mille Crêpes Cake. I personally have not tasted this popular cake and my curiosity got a hold of me this weekend. I attempted at making my own version of the Mille Crêpes Cake. I must say I’m quite satisfied with the flavour but the presentation needs a bit more practice. 🙂

I made a matcha green tea red bean cream filled Crêpes cake and used this as a guideline. It consists of 15 layers of crepes. The most time consuming portion of the work was making these crepes. I had to practice on a few at the beginning to find out how much batter to use for a thin layer.

Here are the ingredients I used for the crepe batter :

1 2/3 cups of all purpose flower

2 1/2 cups milk

1/2 cane sugar

2 large eggs

4 tbsp matcha green tea powder

 

1) Mix all the dry ingredients well first then pour in the milk in portions. Mix the ingredients with half of the milk then pour in the rest and mix them all together.

2) Sieve the batter so it will filter out all the chunks of flour/matcha. You will notice the difference in your batter.

Now the fun part starts, time to make the crepes! Heat your pan to medium high and I used a 9.5 inch non stick pan. I used a ladle to scoop the batter which I find easiest but some people might want to use a measuring cup. After a few trial and error, the best result I thought was to use half of the ladle for each crepe. It took me ~35 minutes to make 15 crepes. Set the crepes aside and let it cool. 🙂 I couldn’t resist but trying a crepe by itself and it was really tasty! 😀

 

Next, I’m going to show you my version of red bean cream filling from scratch. You will need the following

1 cup of azuki beans

1/2 cup of brown sugar or any sugar you have available

1 1/4 heavy cream

1 tbsp of matcha (optional)

 

You will need to prep this part in the morning so it allows the red bean paste to cool down OR you can buy the packaged red bean from grocery shops but I find them way too sweet. I sort of followed the guideline here in making the red bean paste. My version is a bit faster where I bring the beans to boil then reduce heat to simmer until they are very soft and the water runs out. It’s then time to mix in the sugar in the pot. Mix the sugar with the beans while mashing the beans up. Store the mix in a container and close the container to let it cool. If you don’t put a container lid on then the red bean will dry up. (Speaking from personal experience here! o_O)

After the red bean cools down, then we are ready to make the cream filling. Mix together the paste, heavy cream and matcha together with a mixer on high. I put my bowl in a pot of ice water while mixing the ingredients together to help with mixing this cream thicker.

Now we are ready to assemble! I spread a thin layer of cream in between each layer of crepe. This doubled the height of the cake! I was so excited when I saw the end result. You can decorate it however you like. I think the cake looks good the way it is. I put a bit of the matcha powder on top of my cake since I love matcha! 😀

 
 
IMG_4133
This recipe is not sweet and I used much less ingredients than the other Mille Crêpes cake recipe I came across. I think there is still room for improvements on the crepe thinness and consistent size. It’s a fun experiment and not to mention the reward was to indulge in this delicious cake made by myself! My belly definitely enjoyed the fruit of my labour. 🙂

 

Woohoo! Here’s how it looks like inside. If you love matcha and red bean as much as I do then you will definitely enjoy this recipe! 😀

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

