I couldn’t help myself but bringing home two bouquets of dried culinary lavenders last weekend from Farmers Market. The smell pulled me in and they looked too pretty to not take home. ūüôā I have to admit I wasn’t a fan of lavender scent growing up¬†and¬†found it¬†a little overwhelming. In the past few years, this particular fragrance started to grow on me. It may have something to do with some of the delicious lavender treats I have tried.¬†It’s interesting how our taste bud can change our preference of smell, eh? ūüėõ

With all the lavenders I bought, I had way more than enough for just displaying them. Plus I don’t want the place to be trenched with the smell, that might kill the enjoyment of anything. So I decided to make some shortbread cookies! What do people think of shortbread cookies when it gets mentioned? “umm yummy…” then followed by “but it’s so unhealthy… all that butter..!” yeap I agree. I even thought twice when the idea first popped¬†up. Most shortbread recipes requires a whole ton of butter and sugar and I have read at least ten recipes on them. I thought well it’s either that I will feel extremely guilty while eating them OR I can risk wasting a batch and push for healthier alternatives. So I did and how did it turn out? well… read on ūüôā

I think I may have¬†pushed the limit of this recipe¬†further than some¬†people may prefer. But I promise you, it taste great at the end even though you may think it will turn disastrous throughout¬†the process. ¬†Here’s the recipe I used as a guideline and below is the actual measurement of the ingredients I used. I’ve substituted half of the flour with¬†whole wheat flour and some honey for sugar.

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 C butter, softened
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1/3 C sugar
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp fresh¬†rosemary
  • 2 tsp culinary lavender
  1. Mix all the ingredients together. Leave a few rosemary sprigs for decoration if you would like.
  2. Place the mixture¬†on a large piece of parchment paper and roll it out to about 1/3 inch thick. Don’t worry if your mixture looks all crumbly, this is expected. This is due to the reduced butter but you should still be able to roll it out to a pizza shape. Look at my picture below. ūüôā
  3. Let it chill in the fridge for about an hour or two.
  4. Preheat oven to 325 F.  Use a sharp knife to cut dough into 1 1/2 Р2 inch squares.
  5. (optional)Place a small piece of rosemary on some of the cookies. Put some granulated sugar in a small bowl and dip each cookie into the bowl and let one side be coated with sugar.
  6. Place¬†them on a baking mat or leave it on the parchment paper. Move them so they have a little space in between. They won’t expand much so you don’t need much space in between.
  7. Bake 15-18 minutes, until edges are a little golden¬†brown. Let it cool then enjoy the fruit of your labour! ūüėÄ

I tried to follow¬†the steps pretty much stated in the recipe link above¬†except I couldn’t on some of the steps due to the recipe alteration. Here’s a few difficulties I had to face with my changes.

  1. The dough was way too crumbly due to lack of butter. You can see from the picture below that it’s almost impossible for me to make a dough out of it, definitely can’t make a log shape. I had to make mine like a pizza with a roller.
  2. I rolled the dough on my baking mat and I couldn’t cut the cookie batter after because you shouldn’t be cutting on a silicon mat. I still cut mine on it but I really wouldn’t¬†suggest this. I just couldn’t move mine without crumble the whole thing. I should have put it on a parchment paper first before cutting then moved it to my baking mat. At least I know now! ūüôā
  3. Make sure you are fast at decorating, you should bake with cold cookie dough right out of the fridge. If you took long at decorating or what so ever then pop them back into the fridge until they get cold again.

Despite the crumbly dough I had to work with, I really liked this recipe. It wasn’t as greasy/sugary as most of the shortbread cookies I have¬†tried in the past! ¬†Even with the cut back on butter, these cookies were still crumbly and buttery enough! ūüėÄ I love the combination of lavender and rosemary together. I can imagine making many other tasty treats with these two ingredients! ‚̧

Update – 08/20

Another attempt of improving this recipe! With just a few more tbsp of butter, I was able to roll my dough and make cookie discs from them! If you don’t want to work with a crumbly mixture, instead of using 3/4 cup = 12 tbsp of butter, use 14 tbsps of butter! Just¬†two extra tbsps added enough moisture to allow the flour to stick together! ūüėÄ

Leave a Reply

