Wow, it has been exactly a year since my last trip to Japan. It really doesn’t feel like 365 days has gone by since I remember it like it was yesterday. This trip was almost a culinary tour of three popular cities – Osaka, Kyoto and Tokyo. Can we all agree that Japan has a sh*t load of delicious food that can keep anyone busy for quite a while?

My most memorable and anticipated meal was at Sukiyabashi Jiro. For anyone who has watched Jiro Dreams of Sushi would know about the father and the son’s restaurants in Tokyo.

We dined at Sukiyabashi Jiro in Roppongi Hills, the younger son’s, Takashi (隆士), restaurant. The experience was impeccable! There are a number of reviews that has mentioned the younger son’s restaurant isn’t as great as the flagship restaurant owned by his father. In my opinion, it was amazing! Maybe due to my novice knowledge of sushi. But hey! the only opinion that matters to oneself when it comes to food taste is their own. Not to mention, the son and his sous chef both were extremely friendly, detail-oriented and the best part was they both speak English! We were able to get some explanation on the fish type/history/proper way to consume and other random interesting facts. It’s always an enjoyable experience for me when I can communicate with the chef that is preparing my food.

We had 23 different omakase sashimi and sushi servings (captured most of them below), each one was mind blowingly delicious. I could barely move afterwards and yet my mind still wanted more. I seriously had never said more “mmMmmmMmmm” in my life! (* ̄∇ ̄*)

















Chef: tasty?! Me(mouthful):MmmmMmmmHUmphhhh
img_5799
Can you tell how happy we were?  😀
Leave a Reply

